The news is by your side.

Bypoll responsibility for Karnataka Congress working presidents

With the Election Commission of India expected to announce bypolls to Maski and Basavakalyan Assembly seats, the State Congress has given the responsibility of election campaigning to its working presidents Satish Jarkiholi and Eshwar Khandre in the two constituencies, respectively.

In Maski, the Congress is expected to field Basanagouda Turvihal, who switched over to the party from the BJP. In the 2018 Assembly polls, Mr. Turvihal, contesting on BJP ticket, lost to the then Congress candidate Prathapgouda Patil by a slender margin. Mr. Patil later joined the BJP, necessitating the byelection.

In Basavakalyan, the party might give ticket to the wife of deceased MLA Narayan Rao. The final decision will be taken by KPCC president D.K. Shivakumar and party general secretary in charge of Karnataka Randeep Singh Surjewala, sources said.

A letter from the Editor

Dear subscriber,

Thank you!

Your support for our journalism is invaluable. It’s a support for truth and fairness in journalism. It has helped us keep apace with events and happenings.

The Hindu has always stood for journalism that is in the public interest. At this difficult time, it becomes even more important that we have access to information that has a bearing on our health and well-being, our lives, and livelihoods. As a subscriber, you are not only a beneficiary of our work but also its enabler.

We also reiterate here the promise that our team of reporters, copy editors, fact-checkers, designers, and photographers will deliver quality journalism that stays away from vested interest and political propaganda.

Suresh Nambath


Source link

Shree Panjurlli Fine Dine ADD

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.